Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Snowy Posts

Backblipped on 18th March 2012

I still hadn't heard back about the cage, so I sent another message to the seller with my e-mail address. She e-mailed back quickly to say the cage was mine! Hurrah! I made arrangements to collect it, since I was travelling that way soon anyway!

Then we had a quietish morning at home, slightly concerned by the weather reports of snow, before setting out to Gloucester, where the Wonderspouse was doing some poetry reading. It WAS indeed snowing, although not too badly, but we did stop on the way to take this picture. I then dropped the Wonderspouse off in the centre of town, did a bit of shopping before heading home to do some sorting, work, and cage cleaning.

Early evening I set out to collect the Wonderspouse from Gloucester. Not far from home, on the unlit road, the nightmare happened - a large stag came running out of the bushes and straight into the car.

NO NO NO NO NO!

I'd only had the car just over a week, and now it was trashed. I tried to call the Wonderspouse, but he didn't hear his phone. There was no alternative than to try to get to Gloucester to collect him - he'd be stranded otherwise. I pulled over into a layby, looked at the car as best I could in the dark (I hadn't even got to the stage of putting the torch in there yet), and drove tentatively to collect the Wonderspouse.

The front door wouldn't open, so he got in the back, and we drove home, angry, frustrated, and so annoyed that the new car we were just growing to love was damaged.

I drank wine and went to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.