Beauty is all around us.

By Grace55

Two Swans building a nest.

I was on my way home this morning after visiting my friend Joyce.
I was telling her about the Transition movement and leant her the Transition Companion, Rob Hopkins new book.
It was a sunny but very cold morning as I followed the tow path beside the canal and noticed a lady looking over the bridge.
There were a pair of swans collecting bits of bracken and sticks to build a nest on the far side banking.
The male swan swam up and down while the female stayed at the site of the nest most of the time.
A wonderful sight to behold, and I stayed there watching, fascinated, for a good while.
Then I met Patricia at the traffic lights on High Street, and I persuaded her to come and look at the raised bed at the station .
Her husband Brian and Pat. have been growing fruit and veggies on their allotment for many years.
So she advised we try growing potatoes, sprouts, cabbages, lettuces from about May, and strawberries. Peas and beans need starting off indoors.
Patricia has kindly let me borrow her Carol Klein RHS Grow your own Vegetables book.
Don't tell the rabbits and mice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.