October 4th Journal

By IONAX

The Culture House

This is one of the most beautiful houses in Reykjavik. It was built 1906-1908 and opened to the public in 1909. I could tell you a lot about it but here is a living guided tour - so enjoy.
The sad thing is that now it was used for The Highest Court in the land, Landsdomur, for "Trial of Iceland ex-PM Haarde over 2008 crisis begins" see BBC.

To the right is our National Theater. When it opened in 1950 my father was it's lawyer and it played a big part in my upbringing as I saw all the plays that were performed there from the age six to sixteen.

To the left is the new house of The Supreme Court. Although my father became a barrister he had retired long before it was planed and died the same year (1996) as The Supreme Court moved in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.