Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

H is for Home building

I didn't have to go far for today's blip - I looked out the sunroom window and saw some fluttering on the clematis trellis, though it wasn't windy. What looked like a bunch of moss and junk caught on the trellis turns out to be a bushtit nest. A pair of these delightful little birds were busy bringing in nesting materials, so I set up camp on the porch (willing the rain to wait awhile) and shot a series of photos of them. It was hard to choose just one!

I'm looking forward to marking the progress of this bird family! According to the Seattle Audubon Society website, there should be six eggs in the nest. For once I hope the clematis doesn't get too filled out this year!

Have a listen to this short mp3 about the bushtit nesting habits. And be sure to look at her LARGE for the full effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.