Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Newark Abbey

This morning saw a bright blue sky, beautiful fluffy clouds and the pink interior design of the breast screening clinic.

I took a few photographs out of boredom, of the fish tank in the waiting room. Fish tanks make me think of Dentists which in my life has always been synonymous with pain. My brother in law has always had one in his surgery, but I've never seen a notice on it, telling children to keep their grubby mitts off. To be fair, once he's given me a super dose of his best numbing liquid, you could saw my head off and I wouldn't notice.

The radiologist must have had a bad morning. She seemed relieved to find that I wasn't going to squirm around or scream. I did think to blip the x-ray, showing on the screen, as the squashing actually made them look quite good! It would have made an interesting image but all too revealing. The foto cops would have banned me!

The dogs patience, having to wait in the car, was rewarded with a walk on Send Marsh and along the canal. For the first time ever, not one boat went by and the dogs swam further than they walked. Meara was intent on swimming after ducks. They seem to calculate her ability and paddle on, just a few yards ahead of her, almost as if they were teasing.

This is one of the most beautiful views along the walk. The remains of Newark Priory are SSSI protected and there is no foot path nearer to them. Founded at the end of the twelfth century, by Ruald de Clane and his wife Beatrice of Send, it was a dedicated to the Virgin Mary and Thomas a Beckett. It is stunning and on a day like today is at its best.

I've just found out this is my hundredth blip. I thought is was tomorrow. Well I will have to do 101!













Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.