Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Olympic Torchbearer

I had the wonderful news today that I have been confirmed as one of the Olympic torchbearers! Around 8000 nominees will carry the flame around Britain in a very long relay, and my stint is in Oxford on the 9th July. So completely chuffed.

All the torchbearers have been nominated as people who help in their community in some way. I was nominated by a very kind work colleague for my work as Chair of Governors at a local special school. For those who don't know what a school governor does, they are volunteers who help the head teacher to define the strategy for the school, including setting the budget and ensuring the well-being of the children is considered at all times. I'd encourage anyone to consider being a school governor - you don't need children at the school and it doesn't have to be a big time commitment for all governors. It's a hugely rewarding role, and for me especially rewarding being a special school because we are helping some of society's potentially most vulnerable.

We don't have a copy of the torch, but this sparkler is a decent bit of symbolism. One thing we teach all our children: don't hold the hot end of the sparkler, even when it's gone out. I should have remembered that. Only one person damaged in the making of this blip. Oops.

You can see the full route here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.