Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Act of Folly

This is Dinton Folly (also known as Dinton Castle), which was apparently built in 1769 as a folly to the main hall in the village of Dinton - just up the road from us. It's in a state of disrepair, although recently some structural work has been undertaken. It leaves it being this fascinating combination of ruin and repair, spooky shape and splendid castle. We love it.

I (Annie) have been looking back through our images (I can't believe we've kept it going - yay us!) and have been struck by how abstract they've become. Single iconic images with effects to play with. All great for learning photography, but we also love the natural world - where is it?

I realised that as of Jan 2012 I work mainly from home, and whilst the concept always was to use the time at lunch and after work as good leisure time, it rarely works like that. I'm very time poor, with a full-time job, school governors, a part time degree and step children (oh yes, and Chris - hi Chris). Something has to give, and for me it's usually the "downtime" - not good for me. This has to change - I've had a lingering cold since before Christmas and I'm tired.

So today I decided to get out in the sun in my lunch hour and find something local to photograph. Little steps. And it felt great! It won't happen all the time, but I'll try to "get out more". :)

This is taken with the new wide angle lens I have because Chris bought a new one for himself. I've always seen the outside world as zoomed in single details, so I'm trying to retrain as a wide angle girl. Chris loves seeing the folly in black and white - I'm not sure - what do you think?

Thanks so much for all the comments on yesterday's blip - they were all really appreciated and I'm still excited. I'll catch up replying soon... :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.