The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

A Star is Born

My father planted a magnolia tree at our family's lake house the year I was born. It was my mother's favorite tree, and a symbol of his love for her.

When we redid our home in Illinois, U.S.A., the landscapers suggested a Star Magnolia for a corner of our backyard rock garden. It was a no-brainer decision to say, "Yes!"

Every spring, that little tree would produce lovely scented flowers, and remind me of my parents.

Ironically, when we moved to New Jersey 10 years ago, a very small magnolia "tree" had been planted on the side of the front porch. The weather in 2002 was similar to this year, and a week or so after we moved in, that little tree produced 1 beautiful blossom!

It was a sign that regardless of how tough our lives had become, we had a "star" watching over us.

I do not believe in coincidences. For me, everything happens with a purpose. This year, that Star Magnolia tree has produced many lovely blooms, and I am happy to share this beauty with you today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.