Starlings

The violets explode inside me
When I meet your eyes
Then I'm spinning and I'm diving
Like a cloud of starlings
Darling, is this love?


From "Starlings" by Elbow

I love that song and I love these little guys. It's been a camera-free day so no shots until I got home. You nearly got a starling on a chimney stack because I loved the honey-coloured light on the bricks but it wasn't good enough for you discerning chaps. Lots of bird activity round here as the spring kicks in. There is a woodpecker somewhere across the field and the hedgerows are full of long-tailed and blue and great tits - I even saw a couple of coal tits over the weekend. There was also a robin but I shouted at it to get back to being a Christmas cliché.

Time for another song lyric - "Tuesday's gone with the wind"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.