Ian's learning curve

By ianrav

Business Trip

Every time I visit Avignon in the Vaucluse department in southeastern France I promise myself to take the time to look around and find out about the history of the city.

I never do.

I have certainly walked through the small narrow streets, eaten in many of its fine restaurants, stayed in some great hotels, and drank in some of its bars (maybe more than I would care to remember!). However, most of the time I am in a meeting room in a non-descript office building in an industrial estate on the outskirts of the town.

This time however I decided to spend an hour walking through its main attraction - the Palais des Papes (Palace of the Popes or antipopes if you are to give them their right term). Now, to be honest I am not really the religious type or indeed have an interest in architecture. However, it's fair to say that the scale of the buildings and architecture, never mind the history associated with the place is simply incredible.

If at all interested there are a few other pictures here

Well worth the visit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.