Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Me and my shadow

Took this at a Hip Hop Battle run by the Dance Festival whose board I sit on, in a local night club . The younger kids were particularly amazing. There was something about this shot that I liked, not just the obvious appeal of the shadow, but also the slightly rough and Capa-esque grainy black and white quality that it has from being shot at high speed in low light.

Who am I kidding comparing myself to Robert Capa? But check this out and see if you get my idea.

A difficult day today. I was really anxious about work and got up at 5am. Had to present something that I was not at all sure I had got right. As it turned out it went well. The rest of the day was spent on the grinding process of meeting a deadline for submitting board papers - this is a really difficult project management cum quality assurance process but the bottom line is I have to have over twenty documents at the printers by 8.00 am on Thursday, and some of them haven't been submitted to me yet. Tomorrow will be another difficult one. Frequently distracted at work as well, which I hate; and the atmosphere is difficult because we are losing so many good people ...

Going out tonight, I felt tired and ill. But photographing the hip hop gave me release and energy, and it was good to go out with The Dizzle who also enjoyed it. But so much of our lives is dependent on the physical /emotional connection. Right now, despite all the exercise, yoga, breathing, and stress management I am only just holding on to reality. I had a really tight and painful chest this morning but as soon as the presentation was out of the way I felt fine. Good news is I have some time in London on Friday with TSM: taking photographs and browsing the markets. That will be really lovely.

PS if you are wondering about the change of journal name, it's meant to signify what is normally the three part nature of my blips: an image, an account of my day, and some thoughts about life, hopefully all working in harmony.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.