Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Back to the Future

When I was a boy I so wanted a home of my own; I used to get books out of the library about architecture and interior design. Back in the very early seventies the vision of the future was all plastic spheres and habitat inspired modular living, and I dreamed of a world where men wore sharp suits and girls had green hair, like the ones in the Gerry Anderson TV series UFO. The doors in your house were electric, the cars ran silently, and even the aliens were polite before they tried to kill you.

It didn't work out like that. Habitat chic went bankrupt and gave way to utilitarian IKEA flatpack living, TSM has just had her hair dyed black and is much more gorgeous than a silly skinny Angel Interceptor, and I live in an Edwardian property that is high maintenance but full of love. Not an alien or a sharp suit in sight.

So this is our conservatory, recently reconfigured to make it cosier, and sporting a rather lovely vase of flowers from The Girl Racer. Traditional and comfy, which is pretty much how I turned out despite wanting to be Napoleon Solo from The Man from UNCLE.

I do however have three things that would have satisfied my twelve year old self: A smartphone, a laptop and a digital camera. I would surely be impressed to meet myself and know that at least some things in the science fiction fantasy came true...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.