Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Bishops Waltham Palace

Found myself in Bishops Waltham today with an hour to spare and wanted to blip the ruined Palace. However, being English Heritage it doesn't open until May, which meant all I could do was walk around the boundary and photograph over the hedge. So the results are more Sleeping Beauty's Palace than Bishops Waltham Palace!
As always, I like the restricted range of colour. Also the way the buds are just breaking on the hazel in the foreground. Very romantic!
What you actually see (when you can get in) are the ruins of a medieval palace used by the Bishops of Winchester as they travelled round the diocese. Much of what's left is the work of William Wykeham, who was bishop from 1367. Winchester was the richest diocese in England.
History lesson over.
It's amazing, in all the years I've lived round here, this is the first time I've made the effort ot look at it. I think they have opera here sometimes in the summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.