0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Heavy Rain

Something which probably passed most of you by last week, but it was the 101st anniversary of the birth of Akira Yoshizawa, widely considered to be the father of modern origami.

I had thought at the time to incorporate origami into a photo but I never got the time or opportunity. It was only today when I saw a friend's daughter make this brilliant origami piece of the double-helix DNA, that reignited my interest in it and I decided to try and recreate it.

It also serves as a perfect submission for the ODC topic: Attachments & Connections. How so? Well, DNA is the ultimate building block of life. It's what connects us, at a molecular level, to every other living thing on this Earth, whether its animal or plant.

I have to admit I am not the most dextrous of people but I was excited at the fact of having to recreate such a magnificent origami piece. The template is easily available online but it's the actual folding which is the art. I won't say I did it completely on my own merit (I followed a video) ;)

Thanks Xiao for the link and origami DNA information!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.