Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Blue Hyacinth

Another one of those stuck-in-the-house days. A friend said to me recently that my blips were getting a bit flowery. I know they are but when you don't get out and about the garden is a Godsend and the book has to be my priority or sooner or later there'll be no blipping as I sit on Westminster bridge with my plastic cup.

I'm up to 50,000 words today. I spent the whole of the morning on a Cunard liner, crossing the Atlantic in 1933. There's King Kong at the third class cinema tonight while first class are watching a Marx Brothers' film. Meanwhile we're humming along to songs such as All of Me, Lazy Bones and, inevitably perhaps, Stormy Weather, although it's been quite benign so far.

Nice to have the in-laws visiting. They were a bit grumpy about the so-called granny tax in the budget. A relative who had done a family tree I mentioned in this blip, sent me the results of his efforts yesterday. I was a little surprised to find that my grandparents were married just three months before my auntie, their first born, appeared. No big deal today but they called that a shotgun marriage in those days.

These are hyacinths I grew indoors a year or two back then chucked them out in the garden where they still give a bit of a show. Din't know which to blip, the Bee's-eye-view here or the leafy version here. The bee gets it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.