Bay of Meil

A gorgeous, sunny day here in Orkney. I cycled out to the Bay of Meil to look for the possible red-necked grebe but all I saw was Slavonians. Another, much more experienced bird-watcher told me he was there yesterday and saw no red-necked.
Still, a place worth visiting whatever grebes are about.

I was planning to take the 'upper-levels' tour of the cathedral next week (the tour only goes every Tuesday and Thursdays), once I took delivery of a new lens, but the postman delivered it a day early, so, after having coffee overlooking the bay, I headed back to Kirkwall and the tour. You have to sign a disclaimer about heights, narrow spaces etc and then the custodian took me and just one other visitor up to the various levels. The passages really were narrow. We ended up on the parapet for great views over the town, north over Kirkwall Bay and south to Scapa Flow.

Here are a few of the cathedral images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.