Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Be still my heart!!!

I finally saw a Pileated Woodpecker (Dryocopus pileatus)!!! Major excitement, nearly drove off the park service road when I saw this beauty in a tree right over the road!! I stopped, rolled down all the windows (because I was fumbling and hitting all the buttons in my excitement - amazing I didn't start honking the horn, too), and fired off about 10 shots. Didn't have a chance to check camera settings so was very thankful that these came out with only a tiny bit of lighting needed. Holy moly! This is a spectacular woodpecker, about 19 inches (48 cm) long, the largest woodpecker in N. America. They are year-round residents of northern NJ, but are shy birds who prefer to live in large woodland areas. I have been hoping to see one all winter, so this was a pretty neat way to start my day! I've posted another shot of her HERE.

My day actually started when I took an early morning walk in the mist along my favorite trail to a beaver pond. I saw a blackbird sitting at the edge of the marsh, singing and displaying his plumage , probably trying to attract a mate. They are usually deep in the reeds where I can hear them, but never see them, so this was a treat. Then, I saw about 8 magnificent perfect spider webs along the edge of the marsh! Big Daddy really isn't the right lens for spider webs, so must go back early some other morning with the 18-200 nikkor. The fog had left a dazzling display of tiny drops on all the webs - it was quite stunning.

Home to change before quickly heading to the podiatrist to pick up my brand new orthotic inserts (which feel like heaven, by the way!) Decided that as long as I was in Sparta, I'd head over to Sparta Mountain Wildlife Management Area , which has been on my list of places to go. I scored a good shot of a humongous bullfrog (at least I think it is a bullfrog) which thrilled me.

Then, as I was heading back towards the highway, I came across an enormous snapping turtle in the middle of the road. The thing was at least 10 inches long and probably weighed 10 pounds. I am guessing on the latter because as soon as I attempted to lift him up, I saw just how long his neck was! Yikes. I didn't know what the hell to do - couldn't just leave him in the middle of the road. So I put on my flashers and waited until someone came along. A very nice man and his wife also jumped out of their car and the man snatched up the turtle, rang very quickly across the road, and deposited him on the embankment of the lake. He said you have to be quick because they can bite you - hard. The thing was amazing, like something out of the prehistoric era.

So, I think that I've tried the generosity of the blip-gods today. Who know, maybe my friend Lynn was somehow behind my run of extraordinary luck today. What with all the gin & tonics and wine yesterday, she may have been feeling mischievous. Anyway, I can't imagine the day getting much better, so I decided I'd best head home and do a little work.

Happy Thursday. Will catch up on comments tonight...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.