Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...OMG!!!!

That is exactly what I was muttering over and over again when I looked down from my quiet spot on a small footbridge and saw ... my very first-ever beaver!!! I was returning from an early morning walk on my favorite trail, where I had taken several hundred shots of the spiderwebs (posted to an album on Flickr, here. Some little voice in my head told me to take a short detour to a place I'd stopped at on my way out to the marsh this morning. It's a favorite place because it overlooks the lake and there is usually never anyone there. A place for quiet contemplation. There is a small man-made dame with the footbridge over it, perfect spot to stand and ponder.

Which is just what I was doing, when I caught a movement out of the corner of my eye. And, saw this beaver, not 10 feet away from me, making for the damn. I took a series of shots, no time to adjust camera settings. I was in shock, actually. I always believed that there were beavers in this lake because you can see several lodges and I see some signs of tree harvesting that looks to be the work of beavers, but I've never actually seen a beaver here. Plus, they are nocturnal and seldom seen out and about in the daytime. In fact, when I first looked down, it took me a moment to comprehend what I was seeing. Then my heart started to race with sheer excitement!!

The little guy was trying to get over the small man-made damn and back out into the lake, probably on his way to one of the lodges out in the lake. So I was able to stand and watch as he finally made is way up and over the damn (not an easy feat), and ultimately swim off across the lake. Magic, sheer magic. All of you who are nature lovers will relate to this. It definitely qualifies as one of "life's little moments!"

If you'd like to see some other shots of the beaver as he tried to get over the damn, you can see him in my Kittatinny Album on Flickr. I've also included a shot of the nearest beaver lodge to where I was standing. I have always assumed that this lodge was abandoned because it is very close to shore and it has sprouted trees out of the top.

Thank you for the hearts and stars on my pileated woodpecker yesterday. I'm still giddy with excitement, now even giddier what with the beaver sighting! Hope you are all having a smashing Friday.

Please stop by and wish my friend Peg a happy birthday today! She's 29 and holding (right, Peg?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.