Rainy Day in Oregon

By jerispics

Snowy Duck

Wow, what a night/day. A few minutes after I posted yesterday's bike in the snow our power went out! We were without electricity for a little over 24 hours. I guess I shouldn't complain to loudly, because after a storm a week or so ago, some people in another part of the county were without for several days.
Hubby had to drive to one of his jobs today to check on the roads and I rode along with him. We had a flat tire and hubby had to change it in the snow
:-(. Saw 3 different herds of elk, put a pic of a bull and 2 cows in my blipfolio if you want to take a look. These were the closest to the road and easiest for the camera to shoot as I didn't have my long lens with me.
We also went to the 40 acres to check on the cows and found the electric wire (it's solar powered so I guess it really isn't electric) down, so hubby scraped the ice off of it and tightened it a bit to get it back up off the ground. Then came back home, still no electricity, hmmm. It was warmer to drive around in the pickup, so we took his flat tire into town to be fixed. Then came back and picked up the generator at the 40 acres and brought it home so we could have some heat and flush and of course TV. Then went to our daughter and s-i-l's for dinner. She was kind enough to invite us out. Although by that time I could have fixed something up, but who's going to turn down a free meal?
Now to this picture. This cute little duck has been hanging out at this little pond by the road now for quite some time. I don't always see him when I drive by, and I think he lives just down the road about 500 feet. He was there today and didn't appear to want to go into the freezing water! So I snapped his pic a few times. He didn't much care for that either. I think he's a Muscovy. If anyone knows for sure, please let me know. Sorry this was such a long story today. I could have written more, but it's 11:45 p.m. and I'm giving up for the night. Will catch up with journals tomorrow. Sleep tight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.