A year in the Liefe of

By LainieC

Respect

Time for a bit of a rant today.I wonder if anyone else has the same feelings on the overuse of mobile phones?
I find it so annoying, frustrating, upsetting, disrespectful, to see people walking around texting on their phones and paying no heed to what is going on round about them.They become so wrapped up in their own little world they have little concern for their fellows.
Similarly, the use of headphones in public places can be such an annoyance when used inappropriately, as is often the case.It isn't the first time I have thought someone was addressing me , only to find they are' blue toothing' to the world, or so it seems.Do we really need to know their business , even if it does make them feel important?
It isn't the first time I have seen someone so engrossed in their phone activity, that they have come close to having a serious accident.Infact, a friend of my daughter was actually run over by a car while caught up on her mobile phone.Fortunately her injuries were slight, although she was pretty traumatised.Was this enough to make her change her ways??I don't know.
Worse still,there are serious accidents caused by those who think they can drive with one hand and talk into a mobile at the same time.It may be illegal but I see plenty of evidence of it still happening.
How did we ever cope before the advent of mobile phones?

'Respect for ourselves guides our morals; respect for others guides our manners.'
Laurence Sterne.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.