Plus ça change...

By SooB

Tree tunnel

I have a love hate relationship with this road. I love the tree tunnel effect you get from June through October, where the road seems to go on forever and the morning sun slants through...

I hate that it is the most car-rattling bumpy pot-holed road in East Lothian.

Today mostly spent researching what can and can't go in my new composting system, and writing a long tedious letter to some lawyers who are trying to rip us off. They did some work for us, then pulled out just before a court hearing so we had to settle and then tried to charge us 6 times what they'd quote us for the privilege. The most irritating thing is that I know if we go to court they'll probably win, the only profession or trade that would. Imagine if you asked someone to build you a table for £800 and after 18 months of no communication, they delivered a broken table leg and charged you £8,000 for it. Well, would you pay?

I was a lawyer for years, and should really be thinking about retraining so I can get back to it when my son's at school in a few years. But this sort of thing really puts me off. No wonder everyone hates lawyers. I would have been sacked if I'd treated clients that way - has everything gone all to hell in the last 5 years, or have I just been very unlucky?

Maybe I'll be able to make my fortune selling oven-dried tomatoes instead. Any takers?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.