Raspberryberet

By AprilJane

No Average Joe To Me

Today I was drinking coffee with my friend Lucy. She was asking me about our trip to Venice. She asked if it was for my birthday, and I said yes. So she asked what I had arranged for Chris's birthday tomorrow. I said, 'I might pick up the tab at Bar Estilo tonight. With his money'.

His birthday is actually tomorrow, but under the law of family life, you have to arrange adult birthdays around childrens's social lives, and tomorrow Betsy will be at my brother's having her birthday treat. As it was, after tea at about 7, and then home and cake, after a long week at school, Al had to admit defeat and go to bed. Fifteen minutes later he was back down again, couldn't bear to miss anything.

Chris's cake says, 'No Average Joe' because his Just Giving sponsorship page has a picture of the logo for Average Joe's gym from the movie Dodgeball. He's No Average Joe to us.

Had a meeting today at My Least Favourie Organisation. It was good, but it was bad. Oh dear, how the repercussions of bad choices do resonate. Now good people have to take a bullet for the team and deal with the fact that I can't trust anyone anymore. (only in that context of course, thankfully!).

Oh well, we move onwards and upwards. Or try to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.