Friday Foto

By drmackem

Ribblehead and Whernside

A real treat today for me was heading off with a dozen other runners from the club, the others due to be running the 3 peaks race in a month for a recce and timed run of the first 2 peaks.

Leaving Ilkley in the cars we had fog lights on and it looked like we'd be in for a murky muggy day, but as we arrived to our destination, the fog and clouds dispersed and we were treated to a warm sunny day, where the green of the grass was technicolour, the sheep and lambs were super white and all was the dales at their best.

After all last year and most of the year before being an occasional runner due to injury, I'm getting the running mojo back, and so this was a real treat for me, and pushed me in terms of time on my feet running and the particular strain on the body that fell running - even this less gnarly version does to you. The company was great, the dales were great and what a great way to shout out sheer wonderfulness of things.

This shot is of Whernside with Ribblehead Via duct in the foreground. This is an iconic dales view, the combination of such a colossal engineering feet in this wild rugged landscape. Thankfully the rail line still runs, I'd love though to see a steam train chug across with it's steam billowing out.

My little girl returns from her travels and uni this evening for a few weeks, so the party continues - I should be 50 more often.

PS blipfoto nearly was limestone wall
PPS can you see them paragliding?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.