The Wren

By TheWren

Tidy shed!

Both dogs have recently been having a lot of fun down rabbit holes and in various muddy puddles so I decided that this morning they should both have a bath in the River. I hadn't been there for a while and the moment I started down the path my nostrils were assaulted by the strong sweet smell of wild garlic. The plants were flourishing and a veritable sea of green spread from the path down to the water's edge. There were a few flowers just about to break out from their thinly sheathed buds and in a few days time, given the continuation of this glorious weather, it should be a sea of both green and white.

I let both dogs off the lead as soon as I could so that they could enjoy a swim. Cara duly obliged - to be honest nothing comes between her and water! - but Bruce had other thoughts and disappeared up into the banking. When I tracked him down, all I could see was the end of his tail as the rest of him was completely lost in a large rabbit hole. I tapped his tail and he emerged, blinking the dust off his eyebrows, looking rather sheepish! I had work to do in the garden this afternoon so I'm afraid he was on the extending lead thereafter AND he got his bath.

The rest of the afternoon was spent finishing the task of yesterday and my friend and I put in some solid hours' work, stopping only for a couple of much needed cuppas. Job done!..tidy shed .... and I am delighted. The challenge is now to see if I can keep things in place from here on! The rubbish has been taken to the local collection area and I think it is bath time for me now as well, but I have opted for a proper bath with bubbles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.