The Wren

By TheWren

Burr

Well guess who completely forgot about the clocks changing!!! What a numpty!

Anyway I set off for a walk with the dogs at 10:30 when in fact it was 11:30 - didn't realise until I got home and heard the news on the radio that I was an hour out. I honestly don't think I have caught up on myself yet.

The pattern remained the same as in recent mornings where the mist lay over the hills and it was well into early afternoon before the sun managed to burn its way through - and then it was glorious. I took the dogs onto Turleum hill where I normally have wonderful scenic views but today it was as if there were no hills at all. The birds weren't at all perturbed by the mist and were in full voice and at one time I caught sight of a magnificent Red Kite wheeling through the valley on the lookout for some prey no doubt. The mist made me look at things closer to me for the blip and this burr weed caught my eye. As I returned down the hill, the sun had come out and was catching the dried heads perfectly against the still hazy background. I'm really surprised, however, to see that there are any left as poor Bruce seems to collect them on his furry coat each time we venture out now.

There are a lot of new lambs in the field and I also caught sight of a colourful cock pheasant strutting his stuff in some woodland. I stopped the car to take a few shots, but the burr still won the day.

Once home it was wonderful to get out into the garden where I sowed more veggie seeds; weeded and fed the fruit bushes with my Liquid Gold, courtesy of the wormery; raided the compost bin, for the first time this season and treated the fruit bushes to a good layer of compost mulch and noticed that some broad bean seeds had broken the surface of the compost. Oh... and the shed is still tidy!

A superb feel good day.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.