The Wren

By TheWren

Hot dog

It was our last quilting group until after Easter this morning and a couple of the ladies had brought in completed pieces of work which were to be sent away as presents. It never ceases to amaze me how wonderful these items are and how special it is to receive something which has been made with so much loving care. The oldest member of the group, we have just learned, is ninety at the end of the year and you may remember her wonderful scrap quilt. Well she is now to be a great grandmother and has just finished a delightful alphabet floor quilt for the yet to be born baby, using a printed centre which she has quilted and then enlarged with deep blue borders on which she has sewn deep pockets which are homes to 5" high Peter Rabbit, Jemima Puddleduck and Pooh Bear. Everything is done by hand and her stitching puts many of us younger ladies to shame.

I delayed the walk a little this afternoon as it was so warm. I cannot really believe it but the gauge in the car was reading 20' and it is usually very reliable. This is still March isn't it? Anyway the dogs and I eventually set off, for no amount of my telling them that it was too warm seemed to sink in and they were getting fidgety. Cara soon realised that I had been telling the truth and this is her taking a breather on the moor where she found some deep moss to flop into. She doesn't usually lie down at all during a walk so she must have been feeling the heat. You can just see Bruce in the background - nothing much fazes him or disturbs him from his rootling about. Between Bruce and the distant hills you can see young conifers which were planted a few years ago. It won't be too long before they have grown tall enough to obscure this view which will be such a shame, so I walk this way as much as possible while I can still see the hills.

Once home I set about giving the grass its first cut and doing a bit of weeding. During the group this morning I managed to place the quilt blocks, which I have been working on for ages, into some sort of order and am anxious tonight to start sewing some together.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.