Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Holler Here!

Less than a mile from Annie's Cottage, you will find there is a place that gives you special permission to Holler! According to the Urban Dictionary, the #2 definition of hollering is to yell at ill-bahaved children who normally reside in the southern United States. I am wondering if that means that yelling at ill-behaved children in the northern United States or, say, New Zealand or England has to be called something else?? Mother Comfort would probably prefer the term "screaching" for norther children.

While there really is a better explanation for why they call this the Hollering Place, I have to say that the child who resides in me, gets all giggly when I see this sign. This sign just screams (pardon the pun) "HOLLER HERE!" and I just wonder if that means I have to bring an ill-behaved child from the south, or if I could holler at the top of my lungs just for fun.

The Hollering Place has an interesting history, too lengthy to type here, so hop on over to see the link if you're interested. The condensed version is that people used to holler from this place across the bay to the North Spit to ask someone to bring a boat over to pick them up. Pretty simple, really.

No ill-behaved children were harmed in the composing of this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.