Skyroad

By Skyroad

Infinities: Booterstown

I had just parked in the DART car park and was crossing the field to the nearby playground, the wean leading the way, when I noticed the sky, those barred clouds, out over the bay. I managed to persuade the wean to take a short diversion, so that I could take a couple of shots. He was reluctant (actually defiant) but eventually yielded. Then, once we were on the beach he became excited and fell into splashing/shell-collecting mode. I took a few photos of him running about, but this (emptiness) is what I was after. I've always liked this kind of thing. The sky with its furrowed brow; lines of cloud emphasising the horizon: as if everything had just exhaled Oh! Though of course it isn't empty at all; it is actually quite full, a big box of space, a stage-set for yet more memories of my mother, who died just over a month ago. I am not trying to harp on about this, but I guess she will be on my mind for some time to come. It isn't as raw now, but the absence is just as breathtaking. I know where her body is, with her parents' bones in Deansgrange. But where did all that lovely, gentle life actually go? What manner of nothingness did it sift into? As the great Polish poet Czeslaw Milosz said, 'I ask not in sorrow but in wonder.' And, in case anyone is interested, here is that marvelous poem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.