In passing

By passerby

Portraits

The city I live in has a strong communal mix, a large number of residents being Muslim. But it is heartwarming, that contrary to stereotypes, there are several places in the city where places of worship for different religions exist side by side.

I met these youths today evening. They were returning from their Ramzan prayers in a group and were rather eager to be photographed. They were friendly, keen and warm. They also had a slight awkwardness that comes with the onset of adolescence. The young one on the left here was jumping in front of my camera whichever direction I decided to point it! And before leaving, they wished Khuda Hafiz which is definitely not the parting phrase we use, but we returned the greeting most promptly.

Again, I have had a completely different experience here as well. Long time back, when I was new and travelling via public transport, there was a young Muslim kid who sat next to me. Rather chirpy, the little one was. After a conversation with lots of tiny giggles, he turned to ask whether I was Muslim or not. Unusual question, I thought, from someone so young. And the moment, I said I wasn't, he made a conscious effort to move away from me and sit. All giggles were immediately silenced. It saddened me, his reaction. How much, can a little kid think or understand such matters? It was obviously something he had picked up from home or other influences.

So, there are all types here. I am glad I met the other type today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.