Saturday: Life in a Palace

So, the reason I was actually in Split was to take part in Sports Relief.  Yes, we organised our very own Sports Relief event in Split - I hasten to add though, that I walked the mile, rather than ran it.

The turn out was fantastic.  We had a rugby team visiting from Gordonstoun, and one of the lads played the bagpipes which was a real treat.  Approximately 500 people turned up and we raised quite a bit of money for a local homeless shelter.  I had the very dubious honour of firing the starting gun - lucky I didn't kill someone in the process!

In the afternoon, we had a good wander through Split - what an amazing city!  The center of it is a Roman palace - the Diocletian palace - but the amazing thing is that it is completely lived in.  Anyone buying an apartment there has to sign an undertaking not to renovate but it is amazing seeing it as a living, breathing building.

Track 84

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.