Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A Walk in the Park

A pleading email this morning from our Aussie pals, necessitating a pop into town. Of course, on a day like today, which was positively WARM (well, I did of course have my jacket for the shady side of the street. I have noticed that the temperature can vary wildly depending if you're in or out of the sun. And indeed, if you're in a breezy street or not. My motto: Never leave home without a cardie or jacket. And always have hat in bag.

Took some photos in the park. Everyone out having their lunch in the sun. New grass being laid where the ice rink had been. I took lots of shots of people, without asking. And without offering them money. I found a REALLY good way to snap them was to sneak up on snoozing ones! This girl looked so happy. The highlights on her skin are a bit washed out and I could do nothing about them. I love those benches, and often read the sweet wee dedications. Such a nice idea.

I found myself on a shopping expedition, but with no money, so I had to use a hole-in-the-wall. But the first machine said 'TAKE YOUR CARD OUT. UNAUTHORISED CARD'. Having barely recovered from my last encounter with a machine that didn't like my card, I did as I was told. But I needed money to buy requested items. So it was with much trepidation, and with LadyF's card swallowing drama (the ATM swallowed it, not LadyF) fresh in my mind, I stuck it in another bank's ATM. Because of the blinding sunlight, I couldn't read a thing on the screen, and my card shot out. "Not again!" I thought. But just as well I lingered, peering at the screen for a clue - out popped the cash! Hurray!

My mission was to send edible Easter Bunny wafers (to go on top of cup cakes). They are only available in the Land of Lakes, but they won't post them to Oz. I was not to write 'food' on the customs declaration, or they would be confiscated - and here I do hope there are no Customs and Excise people who are also blippers!

I wondered about the Easter Bunny being in Oz. I found out that a man called Thomas Austin is 'credited' with releasing 24 wild rabbits on his property in 1859. It took them less than 50 years to infest the whole of Australia!

But rabbit wafers are not going to multiply and infest the country, unlike the real things... but would that be so bad? I have no qualms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.