Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Not Again!

As today is Tuesday, and I have My Day With Leo, it would be expected that a babyblip would be in order. I did take lots of cute ones, of course, but I was so delighted with this one of the sunning stunning three ladies, it had to be the pick.

I had gone down to Newhaven Harbour with Leo, and as I passed these ladies by, I suddenly heard myself asking if I could take their photo. They were happy to pose. They sum up what a lovely day it was, with everybody out enjoying it. Except the people who had to work, of course. And I didn't pay them! I think I've got a theme going here, of people on benches...

Well, another eventful Day With Leo. No, not just on the nappy front, although he did make a good effort to equal last week's corker. Or maybe I'm just blase about them now.

No.

I got locked out again! That's twice in two weeks! No. Twice in exactly ONE week!!

"This woman's a liability!" I hear you all shout at your computer screens.

But no. It was NOT age-related this time. It was Not My Fault.

As we were going out to the park, via Leo's mum's place of work as she'd left her lunch on the kitchen bench, Leo did a great big snottery sneeze. (Too much information?) He did this throughout the day, because he has a cold, and it resulted in well - I won't go into details. Suffice to say, it was prudent to have a packet of wet wipes to hand At All Times.

So, I went back in to get said wet wipes. Key stuck in door. Key won't turn. Key won't come out. Can't go anywhere. Front door open. PANIC. Rang Leo's mum, who fortunately works nearby, and she was able to come but not do anything about the key either. By this time, Leo and I had been out in the garden for some time, and in the shade, hypothermia was setting in... (I exaggerate only slightly). A neighbour was spotted just back with her shopping, and so the kind neighbour took Leo and I into the warmth, gave me a coffee, rang the locksmith and stood by the window till he came half an hour later. What a lovely woman.

Is there a back door the locksmith can get in? Well, yes, actually, I suddenly remembered that I hadn't locked the back door. Naughty. But all right just this once. So he climbed over two walls and got in. He unscrewed the whole thing. The innards had seized up. Probably an age-related thing. I hugged him. Twice.

So in the afternoon, I checked and double checked keys before we set off for the harbour, and perchance, an ice cream for me.

It's nice walking with a baby in a pram. People smile and nod at you. When I got back I discovered that I still had the two daisies behind my ears from our session in the back garden...

PS Took this photo on the way through the Meadows in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.