Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Window cleaning? It's a doddle.

Today's job is window cleaning. Not because it's Most Definitely Spring. And not because I could barely see out of them in the late afternoon sun after a winter's build up of grime. It's because of the imminent house swap. I like people to think that they've come to a carefully tended house and hope that I'm going to their carefully tended house. This is usual.

Windows and I do not have a good relationship. I NEVER get them streak-free. I have stopped and watched shop window cleaners, and they do it in a flash, often with a cheery whistle, and nary a swear word or re-doing. It's all so effortless. They eschew 'elbow grease'. It's a doddle! I have even bought those squeegee things. Obviously they didn't work too well last time, as I couldn't find them this morning.

These old tenement windows are a wonder to behold. The old glass in them distorts the view in a rather pleasantly quirky way. A system of weights, pulleys and hinges, but no smoke and mirrors, enables you swing back the bottom pane into the room to facilitate cleaning the outside. For years, when I first came here, I used to climb out on to the ledge to clean the top panes. My old father, with his arthritic hands, would sit on chair and hold on to my ankles. I don't know what good he thought that would do. If (IF!) he could hold on and I went overboard - he'd've come too!

I often wondered why no neighbours ever rang the police/fire department/ Samaritans about this mad white-haired old codger out on a ledge on a second floor flat (that's the American floors, we're actually first floor, but theirs sounds higher).

After many years I realised (duh!) that the top pane comes right down, and you can lean over to clean them. I'm not saying it's easy. There is a bit of contortion work where the downwards wipe and the upwards wipe don't necessarily meet... No, not easy, but safe. And no need to terrorise the street. And no need for any (futile) ankle-holders.

My windows are not like that! I used my fish-eye lens on the camera. I've never used the fish-eye lens before, so I tried it out. The healthy looking lilies in the big vase are, of course, not real! It's too sunny for anything alive to sit there. (Yes! Even in Scotland. I can hear all you scoffers, well, ... scoffing!) Besides, my wee country bumpkin pal, when she ventures into the Big City, can only find our flat because of them in the window.

I am particularly proud of my efforts this morning with a new washing solution, and drying with my secret weapon - newspaper, and of course, the aforementioned 'elbow grease'. Four windows down, seven to go, avoiding the sun. If they're not streak-free in the afternoon sun, well... you'll hear me screaming!


Check back HERE later to find out if they pass muster in the evening sunshine...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.