Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Two celebrated individuals in one day!

Well, the window cleaning ending in tears yet again, so I will give household chores a miss today. But all is not doom and gloom - the back windows are streak-free because the low afternoon sun does not shine on them and show otherwise. But one doesn't sit for long in the bathroom or kitchen admiring the clean windows - pity.

After my exertions on the bay window yesterday, I set off in the sun, sans chapeau, but wearing a cardi. And I was quite warm even on the shady side. I partook of my free (loyalty card) coffee at the muzak-free-wifi cafe.

Biking blippers will be delighted - almost next door is a huge new bike shop about to open. For a hilly wee city, I can't believe how there are bike shops on every corner (I exaggerate only slightly).

I then wandered through the Old Town, not looking for another blip. In fact, actively NOT looking for another blip, as I already had my window photo. (I have since realised the how and why of blipfolio, thank you). My feet seemed to be taking me somewhere with a purpose. Yes: through the Grassmarket, past the Museum, round by the Mosque Kitchen, and thence to the pathetic excuse for an Apple shop that we have in this city. I just wanted to touch a new iPad again - (there have been mumurings that perhaps we should be a TWO iPad Household! It would certainly stop the squabbles on the sofa of an evening when we both want to browse).

But I was thwarted! The shop IS NO MORE! Kaput. Gone. Empty. :-(

To console myself, I went to the very pleasant (ie muzak-free AND very cheap) Cafe of the Students (I do still have a valid student card, though it's not a requirement) and had a soup and roll and looked out on the park. All the students were milling around in the sun and in the park, so it was unusually peaceful inside. Sometimes I think how nice it would be to be that age again - what fun they must be having. And then I think not. No jobs to be had, and if you have one, you'll work till you're 85, then have a poverty stricken short retirement, not to mention the volatile world situation, (wars, famine, global warming etc etc). No, the Baby Boomers have had the best time.

At a nearby table was a huge lad, rugby player (prop) type, who had a big chilly bag thing to keep his lunch cool. He took out his lunch. I was expecting a big pile of doorstopper sandwiches at least, but he took out a small pottle of what looked like potato salad. He proceeded to eat it, using a knife and fork, rather daintily. He then packed up, wiped his table and wandered off, satiated. Nice.

When I continued my homeward journey, I passed a famous playwright/artist who used to be married to a famous actress. He was coming through the Meadows and I've seen him before in my area. How exciting. I wonder if could ask if I could take his photo?

But today's photo is of a less celebrated individual, Alan, who tidies up after the inconsiderate people who use the Meadows and environs and drop their litter with gay abandon. (**RANT ALERT** No.1) He was cheerful in his work. He was happy to pose for me and not charge. I am therefore obliged to use this blip.

Talking of rubbish - I once sat in a cafe and watched a woman drive up in her car, park beside a big black bin (** RANT ALERT ** No.2) open her boot, and take out about a dozen helium filled balloons. She then tried to shove them in the bin, but they kept escaping and she couldn't keep the lid down. Why didn't she just pop them? Then again, it may have been an elaborate surprise and the birthday person would be sent out to empty the rubbish. If he/she was the next person to open the bin, he/she would have got a surprise. In fact, whoever opened the bin next would have got a big surprise...

I didn't wait around to see. I should have...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.