Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Marchmontmarte!

The night before last some little toad (with apologies to all law-abiding toads) stole the hubcaps off my late model BMW aging Peugeot! AND there was another Peugeot just down the road a bit! Maybe because ours were cleaner. No, that's not possible...

I know that the 'thin blue line' is getting thinner, and they have much more important things to deal with, but I decided to report the incident officially. They may have crime statistics that they like to fill in, and I wouldn't want the 'Stolen Hubcaps' page to be empty because nobody bothered reporting them.

And so JR, The Worker, dropped me off this morning bright and early at the local Police Station. In the Peugeot with new plastic, non-branded hubcaps, complete with freezer bag ties to prevent theft - bolting horses and stable doors spring to mind... (or is it horses and bolting stable doors?)

A receptionist noted my complaint (mentally) and assured me she'd let the 'Community Officer' know. I didn't know we had a Community Officer - so that's all good. I didn't see Inspector Rebus. Probably too early for him.

It's great being in town on an early morning. It's all calm and fresh and glowing. Especially if you're not hurrying to work and can stop and look. I must do it again sometime. Yawn.

My blip today is nearer home. And I practised another of my tricks - taking photos of folk who have their backs to me. This is the easiest, least stressful, and cheapest people photo to take, although not always with the most pleasing results. I liked the way those two were standing in the sun, playing 'who can spot the bus first'.

It's great to live in this area, because of all the facilities on our doorstep. A friend who's lived here for decades says it's like Montmarte: a wee self-contained town with the city 10 minutes away. Perfect!

I picked up a £1 coin off the pavement. It's a policy of mine never to bend down for less than that, and some days, with my knees and my back, it would have to be a £2 coin. NOT that I've ever seen one of them.

When I say I picked up a £1 coin today, that's not strictly true. I bent down to pick it up, and it was glued to the pavement! I looked around for some pranksters, and seeing none, walked on hastily, pretending that, in fact, I had been checking my laces.

Actually, it was worse than that.

Much worse...

I had GONE BACK expecting to pick it up, having first walked past it.

I DO hope that doesn't turn up on Candid Camera some day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.