'Eyes Like Stars'

By ZombieButterfly

Old

Challenge 26

I'm spoilt for choice in this incredibly old city. Originally, our plan was to pop over to the castle (decided this as soon as the challenge list was put up), but to be honest we couldn't be bothered to drive over, park up and try and get decent photos of it, so we went for this. It's about 15 seconds from where I work and honestly, I had no clue about the history of this clock tower until Nick started Googling last night and we decided this is just as fascinating and not so well known as far as the history of the city goes.

Instead of giving you the info on here, I will link you to a website we found that is full of old photographs and postcards with lots of information too. If you have twenty minutes, have a gander: The Church of St George the Martyr.

On a last note, today is the last day for at least 12 months that people will be able to drive through the Westgate Towers, but for the life of me I can't remember when I took my Blip and gave some history on that. If anyone can find it that'd be fantastic so I can link it up =)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.