Peek-a-boo!

The first time this little guy ran past me, I reached for my camera. As soon as he saw it, he ran to hide behind his mom. Not wanting to make a big deal, I put the camera back, and we began to play peek-a-boo. It didn't take too long until he was comfortable enough for the camera to come out again.

Along with cute kids, one thing you'll find all over this country is covered sitting areas like the one in the background. We have them in Bangkok, and I've seen them in the north, south, east and west provinces, in fields, villages and cities. Generally they are raised a foot or two off the ground, made out of wood and bamboo, and covered with a grass roof. In the fields, they are used as a shady, lunch resting spot. In the villages, they are used as a place to congregate, for the little kids to play, and for the older people to watch life go by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.