Friday Foto

By drmackem

The Best Cathedral on Planet Earth

Had a trip up further North today, to take mum out for a posh English afternoon tea, cucumber sandwiches without the crusts on etc, she deserves to be spoilt now and again. I finished the trip off with a visit to SOL to see the footy - but that was a disappointment, beaten 2-0 and that enormously flattered us.

Before calling in at Mums I went to Durham Cathedral to check it out, it is my favourite building ever. I remember my Dad taking me here often after we moved to the North East, he loved it too, and would show me odd things like where the butresses didn't meet, and tell me stories about the sanctuary knocker and it's bullet hole and other tall tales which on reflection now all these years later were probably not wholly based in fact, we also ate a lot of cake in the cafe - probably the main attraction for him. Being very much chapel and not church it was odd that he loved this building so, but he was right too.

Todays blip foto is around the courtyard and is such a peaceful place, so quiet, reflective and steeped in the history of the place - built in 1093-1133 as a Benedictine Cathedral Priory before the disolution, you can almost sense the quiet swishing of monks robes past you.

"The Best Cathedral on Planet Earth" says Bill Bryson and he's not wrong.
"The Best Team In the Land" - perhaps not today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.