The Mood of 'The Chair'

Scrambling over sand dunes I knew what I had in mind, but it was not easily achieved. A cold wind whipped round my ears and neck as I pulled my collar up, perched on top of the highest sand dune I found myself exposed to the elements. My hands shook and my fingers froze until I found my gloves buried in the depths of my pockets. A shot here and a shot there found my mind thinking fast so I could retreat into the shelter of the smaller dunes.

I noticed the mood of 'The Chair' forlorn as it looked out upon the nearly empty beach, the roaring waves beyond and the long grasses rustling in the wind. Dark grey clouds kept rolling by and then it became differcult to see as a fine drizzle began to fall, not a good time to be wearing specs.

The only 'Chair' in New Zealand and possibly the world. Designed by Christchurch architect David Hall 'The Chair' won the 2011 Canterbury Architecture Award for the Small Project Architecture - a lifeguard tower,
a piece of oversized beach furniture which acts as a working sculpture in the landscape.

Other shots of 'The Chair' can be seen

here and here and here.

I liked the way the sea and landscape can be seen through this image of 'The Chair'.

A bleak day here, a bowl of warm mushroom soup never tasted so good - hope your all keeping warm, perhaps basking in the spring sunshine :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.