Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Golden Barrel Cactus

I like the angle on this one. Just enough of the side to show a tiny bit of the geometrical pattern and the golden glow at the top.

This barrel cactus is still pretty small. Round in shape, like a ball, and about a foot tall and a foot in diameter. It's years away from blooming.

Barrels are like kids. Cute when they are babies and toddlers, not so cute in their middle years when they are going through their sturm und drang period, but once they are all grown up and flowering, just gorgeous.

An interesting thing about barrel cactus is as they grow, they lean towards the sun. I don't think I've ever seen a mature barrel that has grown straight towards the sky.

This was just a quick blip because I don't anticipate much time for any serious blip opps today. I'll be spending a good part of the day in meetings. I could have taken the chance on this afternoon, but with the way I've been feeling (tired) I didn't want to chance it.

It's Wednesday. Happy Hump Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.