Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Violets are White!

The car went into the garage this morning for a pre MOT check up and to fix the hand brake that hasn't worked properly since the dreaded day of the hub.
I use a local man who, from time to time, comes to my rescue, and I trust not to rip me off. I cross my fingers that he doesn't decide to retire.

Having dropped off the car, I walked back home with the dogs. The primroses were all out on the banks, the bee's covered the flowers of a Weeping Willow, but this little gem is what I'd hoped to find.

Viola odorata is a native species which does have variations of colour from deep purple to paler blues and occasionally, white. There are a number of patches of the white ones around this area. It is another plant which has a long history of folk usage. It is said you smell a violet once and never again. Not really true but Violets do contain a chemical, ionine, which briefly numbs the sense of smell. They also contains salicylic acid, which is used to make aspirin making them effective for the treatment of headaches, migraine and insomnia. The roots are a laxative and other uses of the plant include respiratory diseases, infant ailments and cancer.

Young leaves and the flowers can be used in salads and when cooked in stews and soups act as a thickener. The use most people are familiar with is the flowers, crystallised in sugar.

A little flower with a lot of power.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.