Blaeberry

One of the plants that grow in profusion around this area that remind me so much of my childhood in Scotland, are the Blaeberries. If you're English you know them as Bilberries, Hurtberries, Whinberries or even Whortleberry. The list is not extensive as almost every locality has it's common name but the Latin, Vaccinium myrtillus, brings them all together as the lesser cousin of the Blueberry, which is most commonly found in Supermarkets.

I noticed that the plants on the hill, still in winter mode and stripped of leaves, are full of little buds and flowers on the tips of their branches. A promise of a bounty in the late summer.

The days are definitely longer now. My friend and I got out for the first serious evening walk with dogs. Although, when we stopped, my body felt warm from the fast pace, my skin under my top was cold as ice and not long after arriving home, I noticed the surface of the pond is already freezing over. The clocks changing on Sunday will give us still more time. I hope the weather also goes into summer mode.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.