An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Visitors...

Quite nice large. Looks like a feather butterfly! :)

Over the last 7 days, as things start coming together at the house, my mind has been turning more and more to what my mum, gran and David's mum would have made of it all.

These three women were pivitol to the success of every house move we have made, being fully involved in the planning, the preparation, the packing and most importantly, unpacking!

My mum and stepdad decorated every room in our previous house and more than half of the rooms in our current house, when we first moved in. My gran (then just turned 80) insisted on cleaning the insides of all the windows and patio doors and brasso-ing anything brass to within an inch of its life!!!

The kitchen was Mum L's domain. Ever practical, she had the knack of finding the most logical place for every kitchen item from a fork to a food mixer and of course, the wine glasses!! ;-))

I miss them so much and on days like today, when at the house on my own, I like to sit with a coffee, close my eyes and let my mind wander a little and imagine each of them there with me, what we'd be doing and the hilarious conversations we'd be having.

Today, in the midst of this foolish reverie, I heard the letterbox rattle and went to investigate. More junk mail! But as I picked up the fliers something floated out from amongst the glossy rubbish....a white feather. And as I turned to head back to the kitchen I found another just beside the hall table, and then another peeking out from under the hall door.

Three White Feathers....

....And I knew my visitors not only had arrived.....they are here to stay. :-)))

Hope everyone's had a great day. Will try and catch up with your journals this evening but also need to prepare for the meeting at Alan's new school tomorrow (info sharing meeting with the staff and physiotherapist etc) Alan's also spending the day there to familiarise him with the routine and the people. He's excited but a little anxious. Just like his mum and dad then! :-))

xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.