Flower tasting

A week or so ago I noticed red petals in the flower bed. I was greatly puzzled by these splashes of colour since there were no flowering plants there at the time. Today I discovered where those petals came from and I even blipped the evidence. It seems that Terry the squirrel has a taste for nextdoor's wondrous red camelia flowers.

At lunchtime, I spent a few hours in the company of Feast volunteers in the glorious sunshine. We had 60 posters to hand out locally and I was skeptical that we'd hand out all of them in West Norwood. I was completely wrong; I vastly underestimated the number of businesses that operate on the main street. We asked all the local businesses and avoided the chains (Superdrug, Sainsbury's, etc.) if we could put up a poster in the window. I'm pleased to say that my helper and I were turned down in less than a handful of places.

It was great to step foot in businesses that I'd never ventured into and meet the folk behind the counters. It's amazing to have lived in a place for many years and yet stuck to the same old shops.

Everyone was enthusiastic and we had quite a few comments about how excited people were about Sunday. There's a Slow Food Festival on Saturday, too, so we promoted that a bit as we went along. I'll be visiting my brother and family, but I might make it for breakfast before I catch the train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.