Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Swinging into Spring

Best large.

Can't beat this lens. It's delicious.

Had a great morning working at Callum's school as sub teacher. I didn't get to the Dr today as I was called in pretty last minute to sub and then this evening happened with Reuben, but somehow I managed to read a book and then sing The Sound of Music's Do Re Mi to a group of about 15 preschoolers, Callum amongst them. A very special moment. It may have been my imagination but I think they were sitting there quietly looking at me.

Whenever I would see cherry blossom growing up, it would remind me the impending summer exams and I was thus full of quite conflicting emotions over it: the joy from the stunning arresting beauty and the fear of exams! I was always very academic but that didn't mean my pounding heart was. And I still til this day have a recurrent nightmare of walking into exams not having studied for them.

* * *

Update - Reu had a knock yesterday on his head and a whopping bruise. I need to take him into the ER just to make sure as he's having symptoms, just thrown up. I like to keep a record and Blip is as good a place as any. Later - he's just fine and home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.