Taking Shape . . .

For the last week or so I've been digging up the back grass to make a few more vegetable beds. This was laughingly referred to as lawn, but it was mostly moss, plantains and dandelions, with the odd dock growing there too for good measure!

The escalonia hedge at the back, behind the pergola, shaded it for most of the day too, so it was damp and dark. Not a lot going for it! The other day I lopped a couple of feet off the hedge with the secateurs and now at least it is a bit sunnier and I am expecting great things from it - eventually! Lots of muck, sand and seaweed to go on it yet, but I'm going to wait till my muscles recover before I start that!

This morning I finished putting down the weed suppressant fabric and then the bark. Great fun in the wind! So satisfying to look out the upstairs window and see it, even though there are one or two wires, cables and washing lines in view too. Will be even nicer to see it full of vegetables, and flowers, in the months to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.