My little sunshines

Late up this morning - well, I was at least dressing the boys as Steve left. Late compared to yesterday anyway! No domestic goddess today! Exhausted all my goodwifeness yesterday I think ;-) The kitchen is being taken over by half-made craft ideas, discarded as soon as it becomes apparent that I am doing most of the work rather than Ben, even after prep is done... Feeling the pressure of creating another craft kit for next month!

Been practising wrapping Charley up on my back today. A double-hammock, if you're into that kind of thing. I think I've got the right idea, I just need to practise. Lots. And find a scarf suitable to "catch" his head in when he inevitably falls asleep.... In that respect it was a success because both attempts at wrapping him on my back were evidently acceptable enough to fall asleep in!

Took a break and made a couple of Herman cakes today. Added honey, marmalade, pear and banana - all things I just fancied, and slapped it in the oven. Oh my goodness it is gorgeous. Moist, light, fruity, sweet, just delicious!! I have almost finished one of the cakes already.... and I was kind of hoping it would be a breakfast cake!

Charley had his 4 month injections today. We hot-footed it to the surgery and Ben was properly excited to see somebody wearing swooshey shoes on the way there! He wasn't so keen as we approached, the memory of his injections last month was evidently still quite fresh ("mummy I had two ouches in my arms") but when I assured him it was Charley's turn today and that he'd need to give Charley a big love afterwards he was much relieved. We almost missed our turn because Ben needed a wee, typically! Poor little Charley. Three babies had already come out screaming and crying, so I wasn't feeling too hopeful about Charley but I needn't have worried (even if I did think I was going to be sick when I saw the size of one of the needles they put into him) - he screamed, held his breath in shock, cried, but then with a couple of big loves from Ben he stopped! And by the time his legs had stopped bleeding he was happy enough to stand up and coo at the nurses with a smile. Thank goodness no more of that for 9 months.

Exhausted now. Raided the pennies jar for 5p coins when Steve got home and took the boys to the shop for an onion so I could make a casserole - I'm irritated that you can't just buy a single onion, you have to buy three. But before we could cook both boys decided they were tired - Ben was in bed and asleep before 7pm! I then spent two and a half hours in bed with tag-teaming boys before escaping for food, only to have to get Charley again. He's not happy this evening. Unsurprisingly. I was so hungry when I got downstairs that I have put together toast, marmite, cream cheese, tomato salsa, and brie. And loved it so much I'm tempted to have more insulin so I can have another round!

Steve is out at the pub, at a church meeting :) talking about outreaching to a particular area of town which we want to be involved in. Messy Mama might actually do really well there, if I plan it right....!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.