Windows into my Life

By Tessa

Friends Forever?

These two are my youngest children. They turn 5 in a matter of weeks and alas I feel sad. For 14 years I have had preschoolers to keep me company, to ask me silly questions, to make me laugh, to make me cry and to make me feel like the most important person in the world. You see at this age they see you as the authority on everything and they believe wholeheartedly that you know everything! When they go to school the teacher takes your place in this sense. In their wee minds they must think well they're there to teach me so they must know more than Mum and Dad!
So as you can see they're twins. Renee is the baby with her brother Jared being a whooping 60 seconds older! It seems in the twin world that that 60 seconds is very important! The claim to being the oldest seems to be a badge first born twins wear proudly. I cannot say enough, what a true delight they have been to my life. Their smiles, their cheeky antics and above all their friendship. I find myself watching them while they play together. They automatically share what ever they are playing with and even share their food. They both have a strong sense of fairness and know how to divide things in half effortlessly. They have been together from the moment of conception and it fascinates me how differently they see the world compared to my singletons. My other 6 darlings like most of us can be selfish. Depending on personality some can be boarding on self absorbed at times. Im yet to observe this with my twins. They are a unit working together, never apart and always mindful of the other. I think they are blessed because from an early age they have learned to make sacrifices for someone they love and they can do it without any self-righteousness or indignation.
As they grow up I don't see why this would ever change, their bond is one that goes much deeper than normal friendships, Something that only twins will ever experience I think. I'm just a lucky observer that gets to see the happiness it brings.
Friends Forever? Absolutely no question about it..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.