Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Wine bar

It was Carl's idea to get my mind off things by meeting up after today's radiation session and 'going on the razz'. My appointment was for 4:00 pm, but it was almost 5:30 by the time I went in, and this time in a different Unit to what's to be my regular one. The delay was because priority is given on Fridays to residential patients who go home for the weekend. I'd been warned about this during the induction chat yesterday, but still it was all a bit wearying today, and I couldn't help thinking that facing delays like this for the next seven weeks would make the whole experience very wearying indeed – thank goodness for Sudoku on my iPhone!

We finally met in the Davenport hotel and went on from there to George's Bistro on South Frederick Street for a pleasant meal. After that it was a bit of a razz alright. Our intended first port of call was whatever-the-place-is-called on Suffolk Street, but a new wine bar on Nassau got in the way which we just had to try (we'll be back!). A quick stop in the intended place (loud live music turned us off), and then it was on to the one and only O'Neill's around the corner where the atmosphere was only mighty. Naturally, we missed our intended Nitelink, so waited in Doyle's on College Green until 2:30 am came around.

A great night. The perfect way to take my mind off radiation treatment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.