The Daily Record

By havohej

Aldebaran Dwellers in Twilight

Aldebaran 'Dwellers in Twilight' (Blind Date Records 2007)

Chris runs a record label/distro called Feast of Tentacles, he is a very nice man who put out a split single between Rot in Hell and a band I sing in called The Process. His distro was well renowned for being well stocked with all the must have doom, sludge, heavy releases that you could imagine. So if a gig flyer boasted the tagline 'featuring Feast of Tentacles distro' you knew it was one to try and go to. One time there was a DIY distro fair arranged at Nice 'n Sleazys and I headed along with Jamie, I think.

I purchased about ten records from Chris that day, then proceeded to get hideously drunk, marvel at Derek's card tricks, catch the train to Edinburgh, storm round Sainsbury's in matching Crombie's, dance the dance of the seven veils in a Malaysian Restaurant and offend two young American ladies (one of who was to eventually marry Jamie)! Next time I saw Chis we played with his band Moloch, in Nottingham I think, and once again I bought a load of records and got very drunk. There seemed to be a pattern developing.

Not one to mess with higher powers I arranged for Chris to give me a goodie bag of records of his choice, up to a value of £40, at Supersonic Festival in Birmingham, and I got very drunk before meeting him. Fraser and I had caught the 7am train and I think we started drinking at about 8am. So debauched were we that when we were finishing off our carry out, outside our hotel, a homeless bloke joined us and asked us if we 'were homeless too?'! We replied 'Nah, we're just Scottish' before offering him a drink.

It was in this state that I met Chris and records changed hands. How I managed to keep the package intact I'll never know, but on return to Edinburgh I was pleased to see that Chris had done a sterling job in picking me some of his best new arrivals, including this slab of doom..

Aldebaran shine like the star they are named after in the somewhat gloomy realm of funeral doom. This has quite a death metal influence and the vocals and production add to the overall heaviness - there is serious clout and bottom end without the feedback and screech associated with sludge overlords Eyehategod.

Lyrics deal with Lovecraftian horror and all its glorious creeping paranoia and there is some nice Satanic 'Nemesis, the Warlock' style artwork to go with the massive poster encased in the art nouveau in negative cover.

Three songs in total and lasting over 45 minutes this is very enjoyable and different enough, from the many other bands doing this type of stuff, to check out.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.